285 Comments
author

i love all of you, i am being the little doctor and will respond as many as i can!!

Expand full comment
author

for everybody in love with their best friend....that's called being gay.....https://open.spotify.com/track/1DfRCC2qpjjzc6l5DmTjkG?si=4c3c65a860834265

Expand full comment
author

a lot of you are coming to me with actual aches and pains in the lower back, legs, we even have a concussion in the chat..... this one is for all my girls with somethin physical going on: blood rose by tori amos https://open.spotify.com/track/4TB1VONcmN1kmzcgMwraZ0?si=d59209dd0f824434

Expand full comment
author

i have to go for tonight, i'll check back in tomorrow

Expand full comment

waiting on results from a job interview but also wanting to transform into a goat and live on a mountain

Expand full comment

Queer loneliness

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2021Liked by Perfume Genius

You just did. Played nothing at all out of the blue 3 minutes ago. Sated. Thanks again,

Expand full comment

I need someone to kiss my forehead and I do not have someone to kiss my forehead

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2021Liked by Perfume Genius

recovering from a bone marrow transplant (thanks sister) to treat aplastic anemia

Expand full comment

waiting for your misha article

Expand full comment

wait I currently have covid and am being held in isolation in a college dorm room. The only contact with the outside world that I have is to wave a silk scarf to my lovers and friends out the window. Other than that I twice a day receive meals from my minder/guard Maureen who always winks at me when she says “have a nice night”, which I think has given me Stockholm syndrome. Please send help. I am VERY bored with the wig I brought with me.

Expand full comment
Oct 6, 2021Liked by Perfume Genius

can't remember the last time I felt safe

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2021Liked by Perfume Genius

miel pops zu zu zu

Expand full comment

in love w my best friend lmfao

Expand full comment

Compulsively procrastinating due to unresolved trauma even when it takes away from investing your time towards goals and artistry.

Expand full comment

Capitalism

Expand full comment

I'm almost 25, just lost my 9 to 5 job with stable income, and feel super lost. I want to make art /music for a living but am afraid of taking the risk and working odd jobs to support myself right now so that I can work more on my creative practice. I'm all kinds of excited, nervous, stressed, and depressed.

Expand full comment

John Ashbery said that essentially the desire for a god, a “sort of intendant to whom the most important tasks may be entrusted so as to leave you free for the necessary task of idleness that is a condition, the condition, of your being…” and the seeking of that intendant or administrator is not helpful and can be counterproductive in a way. But then he says that “It is better to take in a third person as a confidant, but since there is nothing to confide . . .” And he just kind of trails off but I do think in the individual search for meaning or order or control there is merit to a third person “confidant” to whom we communicate. I agree there is nothing to confide I.E. our telling doesn’t necessarily remedy larger concerns or questions BUT if he’s right and a third person would be better to turn to than god, who is that third person? The conscious mind which I try to remind myself is what “I” listen to? Or the individual other perceiver of me who effectively makes me with their perception?

Expand full comment

My 7 year old daughter is experiencing existential dread. Every night, she's worried about the fact that she and I will both die one day. My poor baby.

Expand full comment

I have diarrhea

Expand full comment

overwhelming loneliness & feeling behind in life

Expand full comment

indecisiveness and self-loathing, honestly

Expand full comment

i just want this all to mean something to someone, i guess

Expand full comment

the need to be hugged

Expand full comment

Can’t stop procrastinating

Expand full comment

stomach pains & digestive issues :( because god gives his toughest battles to his silliest gooses :(

Expand full comment

the world is so close to falling apart, so much injustice and problems with capitalism

Expand full comment

zoloft nightmares made me dream my dead dad brought me to the tony awards and made me take a picture of him w seinfeld.. woke up and had to tutor a student ab Freud what does it all mean

Expand full comment

sleepless nights, stomach aches, sad thoughts

Expand full comment

concussion and unrequited longing

Expand full comment

grad school is too bleak

Expand full comment

too depressed to hang my fake cobwebs

Expand full comment

melancholia while laying on a beach at night

Expand full comment

unhealthy interpersonal dependence in relationships makes me feel broken & sad

Expand full comment

Hello Dr. Genius. Dealing with a lot of transphobic microaggressions from my family lately. And overall never-ending gender dysphoria.

Expand full comment

I have been diagnosed with bladder cancer. Will lose my bladder, prostate and urethra. Maybe my life. What song can sooth my anxiety.

Expand full comment

Trying to overcome self-doubt and believe I have the power to change like I want to

Expand full comment

simply overwhelmed...by so much good and bad and between...too much

Expand full comment

trying to make it in a foreign city where somedays you feel amazing and others it feels like everything is x3 harder than it should be (plus gay angst lol)

Expand full comment

transgender blues

Expand full comment

I don't know how to dance anymore.

Expand full comment

Pretty much, there is no hope...planet's fucked, etc. The more I think about it the more hopeless I become. And this is me being cheerful.

Expand full comment

I miss someone that recently moved away

Expand full comment

school is overwhelming

Expand full comment

someone I love died

Expand full comment

trying my hardest not to ask my crush out because i'm afraid of rejection

Expand full comment

that i'll never allow anyone to love me

Expand full comment

I’m in the longest covid lockdown in the world (Melbourne) and the depression is hitting hard!

Expand full comment

i hate every moment of planning my wedding

Expand full comment

my childhood trauma lol

Expand full comment